My Screw May Be Titanium, but My Seats Are Platinum

I saw the doctor for a follow up this morning and she said some great things and some not-so-great:

Great:

  • I can start sleeping without my boot on. I haven’t had a good night’s sleep in three months, so this is very exciting to me.
  • I can get fitted for my orthotic and in about two weeks when it’s ready, I can, in the immortal words of my chart, “wean from boot.”

Not So Much:

  • Sayeth the Doctor: “Oh, didn’t I mention that when you broke your foot a major nerve was pinched between two bones and I had to move it when I put the screw in and now it’s damaged? No? Oh well. No big deal. It’s only going take a year and a half to heal and in the meantime you’re just going to always feel like your foot is asleep and/or twitching. So that’s cool.”
  • No driving yet.
  • I’m not allowed to ice my foot anymore, evidently because of the nerve damage. I’m really not sure I understand the reasoning behind this, and wrapping my foot in ice is my favorite part of the day so if anyone reading this has had a similar experience I’d be curious what you were told about ice and why.

In other news, I took my foot and my husband out for a date last Friday night. I was able to get tickets to the Cavs game from my work because they have a suite and when they’re not using it to entertain customers and other VIPs, they let employees use the tickets. The suite is basically awesome and I think I am spoiled now because I’ve used it a handful of times and pretty much never want to sit with the rabble again.

Somehow on Friday, we managed to get tickets in the “Platinum Suite.” I had no idea what that actually was, but it had Platinum right there in the name, so I knew it was going to be good. I was not incorrect. With assistance we found our suite, which was truly gorgeous but we couldn’t figure out where our seats were to watch the game. Luckily a nice lady came and offered to fix us a drink and said we could take them with us when we went to our seats. So I said, “Yeah, about that. Where are our seats?” She pointed in a direction that led out of the suites area. We got our drinks and headed in that direction and, lo and behold, our seats were COURTSIDE. CENTER COURT. Like, exactly on the line, smack in the front row, sitting on the floor, center court. That center court.

left foot cavs game

My left foot and I, managing to have fun courtside at a Cavs game.

I am not telling you this to brag (well, maybe just a little). My point is actually this: I am not a humongous basketball fan, but I do enjoy a game. This – this was a whole other world. Being so close that we could feel the wind as the players ran by made me see in a new way the athleticism that goes into what they do. I found it to be very inspiring. And I was reminded that somewhere under the lump that I feel I have become over the last three months, there is an athlete. And every day I am closer to finding her again. I expected to have a fun night out with my man, but what I found was inspiration. And that is no small thing.

And what have I started lately? Actually I have an exciting personal project that I (and a few others) started on Saturday. I’m not ready to share details, but it’s something that, if done well (and it will be), will be a positive influence in my community for generations. And that’s no small thing either.

About leftfootchronicles

In 2010, I went from 0 to Triathlon in 8 months and completely changed my life in the process. In October, on the very day I decided I would train for a half-marathon, I tripped and suffered an injury to my left foot that, in the words of my doctor, ends athletes' careers. I am not prepared to give up so quickly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Screw May Be Titanium, but My Seats Are Platinum

  1. fractralfoot says:

    One of the other bloggers has a nice illustration of the nerve that’s giving you trouble. Or probably it’s the one that is. I tried looking for it, but couldn’t find it easily. Anyway, the doctor’s right, it feels weird for a while. However, it does slowly go away, so you might not have the extremely weird feeling for the whole time! At least your doctor told you! Mine didn’t, and I had to work it out for myself, between the operation report, illustrations of the nerves, and talking with my friends.

Leave a Reply

