Setting the Wheels in Motion

As a parent with a full time job and a busy personal life, I take any opportunity I can find to have a few minutes’ peace. So during my first PT appointment, when the nice man wrapped my swollen foot in ice and let me lie down for 20 minutes, I took advantage of the chance to be alone with my thoughts. And they went a little something like this…

Woo! Cold! Cold! Cold! Cold!

Ahhhhhh…

Deep breath.

Deep breath.

Deep breath.

So, here I am, lying on this table. Beginning physical therapy at last. I wrote in my first blog entry that the day I got my cast off was Day One of my recovery, but maybe this is really Day One. I mean, I haven’t really been using my foot since I got my cast off because I wanted to start PT first so a professional could tell me what I should and shouldn’t do. So I have still been in a holding pattern until today. So this – this definitely is Day One.

Then again, tomorrow could be Day One for something else. And the next day something else again. Maybe it’s better to look at every day as Day One. What am I going to start today? What new skill will I learn? What will I set in motion? Whose life will I touch, and what will that lead to?

Instead of living every day like it could be my last, why not start living as though every day is my first? When we live like we’re dying, we can be reckless. There are no consequences. But when we live like every day is the beginning, we have to think about the chain reaction that we start with everything we do. We think about how the things we do affect others, and hopefully we strive to make those interactions mean something positive. We live like what we do and say matters.

So this is Day One. And so is tomorrow. And the next day. And the next.

While in the thick of things, it’s easy to fret over the fact that today in PT I was “only” able to do a certain wee small exercise and not remotely close to the kind of workout that I am accustomed to, but the fact is that yesterday I couldn’t do even that. And tomorrow will be something else new. Some days you start something big, and some days it’s all you can do to do a little thing like flex your foot. But you never know where that little thing might lead. What is important is the starting.

I ask you, dear reader, what will you start tomorrow?

About leftfootchronicles

In 2010, I went from 0 to Triathlon in 8 months and completely changed my life in the process. In October, on the very day I decided I would train for a half-marathon, I tripped and suffered an injury to my left foot that, in the words of my doctor, ends athletes' careers. I am not prepared to give up so quickly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

