Balance and Inspiration

I have been trying to find the balance between pushing myself to get better and making things worse.

Every day I try to spend more time going longer distances on one crutch. I started by going just three or four steps at a time and in only a week I have worked my way up to going from my desk to the lunch room at work. I’ve done it a couple of times a day for the last couple of days, and while tired and sore, I lived to tell the tale.

A few nights ago, I even walked* about 5 steps across my kitchen with no crutches at all! I was overjoyed, and then distraught that something so little could feel like such a huge accomplishment.

*And by walked I mean that I did an excellent impersonation of a zombie.

It’s hard to know whether the soreness I am feeling is the good kind. When I work out and push myself to do more reps, run farther, bike faster, I feel that sweet, sweet burn, that ache that tells me with every step that I am Alive and Strong. The soreness reminds me that I have done something Good for Myself.

But now, I don’t know. The lines have become blurred and I can’t tell when it’s enough. I am guessing, feeling my way around blindly. There is no choice but to trust my instincts. When I have a hunch that it’s enough, I stop. I confess I like things to be more scientific than that.

There are two things I don’t do well: uncertainty, patience and math.

As I struggle to find my balance, here is something that has been inspiring to me. I hope you will find Matt’s story to be inspiring as well.

About leftfootchronicles

In 2010, I went from 0 to Triathlon in 8 months and completely changed my life in the process. In October, on the very day I decided I would train for a half-marathon, I tripped and suffered an injury to my left foot that, in the words of my doctor, ends athletes' careers. I am not prepared to give up so quickly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Balance and Inspiration

  1. fractralfoot says:

    Good to read you are up and working. Do you know the book, “How to Dance Forever” by Daniel Nagrin? It has some good suggestions for anyone who wants to keep doing their sport or art well into old age. I found it worth reading.
    It’s worth remembering that a lisfranc injury might end an Olympic or pro athlete’s career, but most of us aren’t performing at that level in the first place. It doesn’t necessarily mean we can’t get back to our previous level . little below it, or even considerably above it! I am finding that the problem isn’t so much the foot, but it’s all the atrophy that occurred while I was inactive.

    • I live in fear of the atrophy. I worked so hard to get to where I was before the injury and I know the amount of work it will take to get it back. I know I can do it, because I did it before, but I also know how difficult t was. I both dread and look forward to seeing how much work it will take to get it back. I added that book to my “to read” list and will pick it up as soon as I finish the book I’m currently reading. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

