Perspective

This has been a difficult week. More than one person that I know has experienced the death of a loved one. Another person’s husband had a stroke at the age of 44. There is no reason for any of it. Sometimes you’re here and then the next moment you’re not. Sometimes you can walk and then you suddenly can’t. It’s that uncomplicated.

Riding home from work tonight, my coworker and I passed by the park where I like to go running. I told him I wished he could drop me off, even while it was snowing, so I could go for a run. I understood suddenly why it is that you see those fools out running in any weather: it’s because they can. And I knew in that moment that next winter, you will see me out there. I will be one of those track-suited ladies with a pony tail and ear warming headband thing. And when I run, it will be with a new appreciation for the bones, muscles, nerves, ligaments, blood vessels, brain cells – all the myriad parts that have to be healthy and work in harmony in order for me to be able to do that.

I used to run and now I have to learn to walk. So to those who are struggling to keep their January promises to themselves, or even to define what those promises might be, I say this: quit whining and get up off your butt and do it. You have the time. You have the ability. So do it. Because there are others who would give anything to do what you can do without thinking. It’s that uncomplicated.

About leftfootchronicles

In 2010, I went from 0 to Triathlon in 8 months and completely changed my life in the process. In October, on the very day I decided I would train for a half-marathon, I tripped and suffered an injury to my left foot that, in the words of my doctor, ends athletes' careers. I am not prepared to give up so quickly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

